Friday, April 29, 2011

19 coal-based TPS clock 90%+ PLF during FY 2010-11

The Central Electricity Authority (CEA) has released a list of coal-based thermal power stations (TPS), for the period April 2010-March 2011, with a plant load factor (PLF) more than 90%. Out of the 19 TPSs, that have exhibited a PLF of 90% or more and have a cumulative capacity of 21,995 MW, 11 are run by central public sector undertakings (CPSU), 3 are run by state PSUs and the remaining 5 are privately-owned.

Remarkably, 500 MW Dahanu TPS has attained the highest PLF of 101.00%. However, 1,240 MW Kota TPS and 2,600 MW Ramagundem super critical thermal power station (STPS) have achieved a PLF of 91.04% and 90.27%, respectively, ostensibly the worst performers among these 19.

Pertinently, during the year 2010-11, NTPC Limited's 3,260 MW Vindhyachal, 2,600 MW Korba, 1,050 MW Unchahar and 2,000 MW Rihand STPSs recorded PLFs of 94.58%, 93.29%, 93.26% and 93.15%, respectively.
Srikanth Nyshadham +91-98665-06729
Bookmark and Share